2015-2017 Local Executive 


     Local President: Brenda Allan

brenda.allan@opseulocal215.com

     VP/HDS: BJ Stengel 

bj.stengel@opseulocal215.com

     VP NHS: Lorraine MacLean, SCS 

lorraine.maclean@opseulocal215.com

     VP NHS: Mike Garner, GNG

mike.garner@opseulocal215.com

     Secretary: Sonia Leggett, WHS

sonia.leggett@opseulocal215.com

     Treasurer: Susan Goertzen, SCS

susan.goertzen@opseulocal215.com


    Other Unit Stewards:

       Theresa Houle theresa.houle@opseulocal215.com

       Chris Parker chris.parker@opseulocal215.com

       Moira Montague moira.montague@opseulocal215.com

       Lisa Morabito ​lisa.morabito@opseulocal215.com


     Trustees: 1. Kim Marshall; 2. Grace Panich


     NHS Labour Management Committee: 

       Brenda Allan, Chris Parker, Chris Provias



​​Local President: Brenda Allan

905 378-4647 ext 32391

Roles of  The Shop Steward

  • Stewards are elected by the members they represent. 


Core responsibilities include:

  • Listen for and identify member’s issues and carry these to the Unit Stewards/committee.

  • Communicate union information to members, including local executive decisions affecting members

  • Attend unit committee/steward meetings 

  • Do basic preparation and investigation on grievances arising from members

  • Represent members in step 1 meetings (initiating the grievance) and other meetings.

  • Collaborate with your Unit Steward and Executive to assist members 


Stewards will form a network and be supported to better learn their role and the collective agreement.

Stewards may expand their core responsibilities to other areas including health and safety, bargaining, Labour management committees, building links outside the local. Participation in Educational Sessions/Weekends are required.

local executive 2015-2017